Sughrue and Young’s consistency secures senior junior title 22

Sughrue and Young’s consistency secures senior junior title 22

Constancy handed Matt Sughrue and Justin Young the 2022 senior junior title at Dye Preserve Golf Club in Jupiter, Fla., shooting a total of 209 over three rounds as the only 47 starter team to shoot even par or better on the three rounds.

The Virginia-based tandem was led by two behind Charlie Harrison and Roger Holt, who topped Monday’s best-ball first round with a scintillating 63, the field-best three-stroke tally.

Wednesday’s back nine from the alternate shot proved the difference to Sughrue and Young’s win.

Sughrue and Young finished their final round with a pair of bogeys to shoot 36 on the closing side. Harrison and Holt returned five shots with a 41 on the back nine for a final round 77.

Ryan Greer and Stuart Smith, sitting in second place and trailing by one shot with 18 to go, also bugged the final two holes for a comeback of nine 38s, posting a 76 for the day.

Bryan Norton and Park Ulrich sat tied with the eventual champions to start the final round and carded a 38 over the back nine for a 75 on Wednesday. Harrison and Holt, Greer and Smith, Norton and Ulrich all finished with a three-day total of 4-under, good for a three-way tie for second place. Norton and Ulrich took second place honors in a scoreboard playoff.

Young’s victory is his first since the Virginia State Golf Association Mid-Amateur Championship in 2017, and Sughrue’s second victory in the last seven months alongside the 2021 singles at National Golf Links of America in Southampton, NY in last June.

Defending champion Jon Hurst played alongside Rich Buckner instead of 2021 teammate Evan Buck. Hurst and Buckner finished in 39th place.

View results for National Senior Junior

ABOUT Senior Junior National

Average amateur, senior amateur. The unique 54-hole stroke play tournament includes a “junior” (mid-morning) and a senior. There is also a Legends division which combines legends and super seniors. Launched in 1991 by some members of the Society of Elders. Played on a beautiful course resurfaced by Pete Dye. Best Ball Format Tour 1 – Pinehurst Tour 2 Format – Scramble Tour 3 Format.

View Full Tournament Information