Baylor’s Partrick named TSSAA Women’s Golf Coach of the Year

Baylor School golf coach Gary Partrick has been selected by the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association as the 2021-22 Women’s Golf Coach of the Year.

“It really is a well-deserved honor for Gary,” said Baylor sporting director Mark Price. “He continually exhibits the ideals and qualities that best characterize the Baylor School while leading our athletes on and off the course.”

A native of Red Bank, Partrick taught and coached at East Ridge, Soddy Daisy and Cleveland High School before joining the Baylor coaching staff in 2000. In addition to coaching football for the Red Raiders, teaching wellness classes and living on campus as a boarding parent, Partrick began helping with the boys’ and girls’ golf offseason program from 2006 to 2008 and served as an assistant coach in 2008 when the golf teams boys and girls have each won state championships.

He was named head coach in 2009, and since then women’s teams have won six state titles (2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2020, and 2021); and the men’s teams have won five titles (2012, 2015, 2018, 2020 and 2021). Last August, Patrick was named the recipient of the TSSAA Distinguished Service Award for the 2021-22 school year.

“It’s an honor to be Baylor’s Head Golf Coach and to be part of a program with such a history of winning championships and producing great young people who also happen to be great golfers.” , said Partrick. “I would like to thank 2021 Women’s Team members Kyndall Shamblin, Paula Liano and Carlee Rogers, Assistant Coach Rheagan Hall, Athletic Director Mark Price and the Baylor administration for their full support of the golf program which enables students to perform at such a high level. I appreciate the TSSAA for recognizing the hard work these young people have put into achieving their dreams of becoming champions.

Partrick’s name was submitted by the TSSAA to the National Federation of High School Associations for consideration as Division 3 Coach of the Year. Division 3 includes Alabama, Georgia, Florida, Mississippi, La North Carolina, South Carolina, Louisiana and Tennessee